The Power of a Parents Love

I have recently returned from vacation in Montreal. I love going to Montreal it’s a wonderful city. We were vacationing in Mont Saint Hiliare a beautiful region renowned for its orchards. The park we stayed at was largely populated by seniors and the majority of them were kept busy with their grandchildren. I also observed seniors who were there alone and I could feel their sadness. This was the inspiration for my poem.

The Power of a Parents Love

Your season changed from youth to winter

Hoariest you look to me now

Your contemptible life ahead

And once where there was a beautiful orchard

So rich and colourful

Surrounded by the lingering perfume of the night air

Now only broken petals

Discarded upon the barren soil

Disparaged you come to me in tears

The Saints in all their glory unable to heal your heart

You have hoarded your love

And now

Fear grips you to part with it

Heed the knell

Your season of spring has passed

Do not look upon the frozen ground in sadness

Let the Saints carry your tears

Surrounding your child with the melody of love

For in winter you shall have abundance

Your hearth overflowing

Extend this to your child

Judge not

Embark on your healing journey together

And know that in life

Seasons change

Written by,

Heather Barkhouse

About moosewalker

Recently I have learned to accept myself imperfections and all. I have always defined myself through others because I was afraid. Afraid to let people see the real me, afraid they may not like me, afraid they may break my heart. Standing here today I’ve been through all of that and I’m OK. I have found my voice through my writing and although I am a work in progress I finally feel free. Expressing myself and being honest with myself has allowed me to emerge from my shell. I haven’t completely discarded it for it’s been my hiding place all of my life. I’ve just redecorated! My greatest joy comes from having my words delight, inspire and move you. Please put your comments I love reading them. “Standing on the rock arms outstretched I can touch heaven and earth “ Love Always, Heather
This entry was posted in GRATITUDE, Healing Journey, life, love, Parents Love, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Power of a Parents Love

  1. Thank you for a great post.

Leave a Reply

