Red Plaid Pyjamas

Red plaid pyjamas

Plaid slippers

Old worn plaid blanket

Keeping me warm as I peer out the frosted window

Nose cold

Pine boughs weighted heavily with snow

Deadwood jutting out from the forest floor snow clinging to its sides twenty feet or more

Same thickness from earth to sky

Red ribbons blowing in the wind

Will soon be buried under the drifting snow waist high

Black-capped chickadees and blue jays gather round the feeder singing their winter song

A downy woodpecker an acrobatic forager balances from the suet feeder swinging to and fro but not for long

As a playful squirrel joins the group searching for peanuts under the snow

This is the Boreal Forest come to life

A place where sweetgrass and cattails sleep for the winter

Hibernating until spring to grow

And as the sun rises from the edge of the frozen lake

A crystal ice palace this storm did make

Gleaming sunlight luminous sparkles

This wonderland beckons me to take a break

On with my kamiks and out to play

I’m making plaid snow angels today

Written by,

Heather Barkhouse

 

About moosewalker

Recently I have learned to accept myself imperfections and all. I have always defined myself through others because I was afraid. Afraid to let people see the real me, afraid they may not like me, afraid they may break my heart. Standing here today I’ve been through all of that and I’m OK. I have found my voice through my writing and although I am a work in progress I finally feel free. Expressing myself and being honest with myself has allowed me to emerge from my shell. I haven’t completely discarded it for it’s been my hiding place all of my life. I’ve just redecorated! My greatest joy comes from having my words delight, inspire and move you. Please put your comments I love reading them. “Standing on the rock arms outstretched I can touch heaven and earth “ Love Always, Heather
This entry was posted in angels, Boreal Forest, Healing Journey, Life in the bush, Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

